BMW NineT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Super Moderator
10,494 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know there have been threads for specific action cameras in the past (Go Pro springs to mind) but I thought it would be a good idea to have a thread where people can place questions, opinions, recommendations and generally discuss these action cameras.....

What features do they have? Mounting options? HD performance? Water proofing? Battery performance? Bundled editing software.... This type of thing!

·
Super Moderator
10,494 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
OK to start the ball rolling...

I am starting to think I could do with an action camera, but am a total newbie when it comes to these things! The last video camera I had used full sized VHS tapes and was the same size and weight as a smallish dog!

I have heard of the Go Pro stuff, but I did see a neat video on this forum shot with a Sony Action Camera and the quality was great. I also really liked the in-built GPs which enabled neat on-screen graphics including a mini map and speed indication.

I have a Garmin Zumo Sat Nav and I notice that it is compatible wit the latest Garmin Virb cameras. I notice that the Garmin VIRB X HD is just about to be released and it has built-in GPS and WiFi, remote controllable from the sat nav, and has built-in GPS for fancy in-video graphics. It is also waterproof which seems like a must-have for motorbike use.

What camera recommendations or advice do you have for a slightly confused, but willing to learn baldy guy?

·
Premium Member
48 Posts
I have an old gopro (hero2?), as well as a replay xd 1080p. I definitely prefer the bullet cam profile of the replay xd, lack of "fisheye" effect (wide angle lens, but not super wide) wiring options (external mic, hard wire battery) and the fact that its water proof without a case. Similar mounting solutions too.

The new version includes wifi & smartphone connection/remote. I'll probably end up buying it in the near future.