BMW NineT Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Vote for the Site Favourite BOTM winner for the year of 2022 HERE!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody,
I spotted a beautiful (at least in the pics…) used R9t, ‘16 model from a bmw dealer. Less than 10.000 km on it, regularly serviced by bmw dealer. Since I’m new to this bike, could you pls enlighten me about particular things to check? Is it a good year, comments, advices?
thanks in advance
paolo

· Premium Member
1,212 Posts
The R nine T is a solid bike.. very reliable engine.

As long as it had it's services and comes with complete history, i would not worry about it and buy it if you like.
The one you are showing has an Aluminium tank (that's an upgrade over the stock tank)

The only thing i would haggle off the price is a set of new tires (if those are from 2016 they are too old). And a full fluid change (oil, brake, cardan).

· Registered
46 Posts
the r9t does not have any known weak points that you should have an eye on, the engine and drivetrain is a well established concept that got only slight updates over the years which means it is very reliable. if it does not have any damages then you can buy it no problem. ask for a fresh service and consider replacing the tyres if its still the first set, like chris already mentioned.

· Registered
2018 R1200RT - 2015 RNineT
350 Posts
Beautiful bike

The early bikes can develop an electrical short due to a loom being too tight at or near the steering head. You may want to go here and read the entire thread so you know what to look for. I'm sure your dealer will deny any knowledge but BMW has a repair kit to fix it.
CLICK HERE FOR LOOM ISSUE THREAD

· Registered
2016 R9T Classic
17 Posts