BMW NineT Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Urban GS
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
Just got the 2017- version installed on my Urban GS. Looks great, easy to install, lots of new features.
One question though, how do you change the units? Such as mph km/h or MPG to l/100km? And the rev counter red light?
When I enter the set up there are a few limited options....Don't know where to go and the instructions are very basic....
Thanks
 

·
Premium Member
2016 RNineT Classic
Joined
·
656 Posts
To the rescue! Here’s the excessive thread with 27K views and 3xx comments: DK Design digital gauge
@dodgybugga was the first to provide both manuals for the different versions, although we later found out that Koso had mixed them up. But here are the two screenshots that might help:
Product Font Line Rectangle Material property


Rectangle Font Screenshot Material property Software


Hope you’ll find it, enjoy the unit, it’s one of the best upgrades in my opinion! Especially since it’s constantly smiling at you 😀 Cheers!
 

·
Registered
2018 Urban GS
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks but my unit seems to be very different! Very limited options in the SETUP menu? See video below
I get this:

set DWA
set clock
set date
set bright
EXIT

That's it!

 

·
Premium Member
2016 RNineT Classic
Joined
·
656 Posts
Hmmm, since I have the DakarDesign unit, I’m probably not the best person to assist any further. There was a (European) group buy about a year ago, see here: CLOSED: Koso DL-04 Meter - Possible Europe only Group Buy I’d ask the people involved there - or address Koso directly?! I’m sure you’ll figure it out soon! Good luck, have fun!
 

·
Premium Member
2016 RNineT Classic
Joined
·
656 Posts
I really don’t believe that’s an issue, the Koso group buy here on this forum was specifically for the Europeans, I believe mainly for shipping cost reasons.
I can not imagine all those people are looking at mph. What does Koso say?
 

·
Registered
2018 Urban GS
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I heard back from KOSO Europe and they claim that the DL-04 simply reads what's in the ECU, so there is no way to change the units. I am baffled to say the least

And obviously this makes the DL-04 17- ILLEGAL in the UK

Font Rectangle Circle Magenta Number
 

·
Premium Member
2016 RNineT Classic
Joined
·
656 Posts
Unless they changed the firmware since 9 months ago, and eliminated the unit selection function, can’t believe that. @koen-ninet installed the Koso Unit back then, and he’s in the Netherlands… 📣 Koen, to the rescue!?! 🔊
Unfortunately, he hasn’t been on the forum for a while, so don’t know whether he sees this message instantly.

I‘m not sure who else bought the Koso (as opposed to the DK Design) unit back then, might take a little research here.

The response that the unit “only reads what’s in the ECU” is correct as far as certain data are concerned, but you can’t tell me that a German motorcycle “thinks” in mph… No, they don’t.😉 I’m stating that’s fake news.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
745 Posts
Hopefully. However I must have tried all the possible permutations of long/short pressing + upper lower switch.
This is just a guess, would hooking a GS911 be able to tell you the info (and thus the units of measure) that the ECU presents?
If the ECU shows it, why wouldn't the meter show it (and isn't that what the Koso Tech spells out?)
If it makes a difference, I had initially tried to get the Koso meter and Koso North America directed me to DKDesign.
 

·
Registered
2018 Urban GS
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Yes that’s what I thought, and I did plug the GS911 in. The units where already set as km, Celsius and L/100km. I then tried to change the units to imperial and back to IS but it had no effect on the KOSO. BTW the KOSO triggers a fault code “incorrect instrumentation”, not a big deal
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
359 Posts
Sorry you are dealing with this, Carbold. I bought the Dakar unit this spring and when I submitted my order I was told to wait a week because they ran out of MPH units, but I did read in the thread that this measure could be changed in the settings. Quite confusing, I reckon!
 
1 - 20 of 41 Posts
Top