BMW NineT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Super Moderator
10,471 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just a wee intro. The posts below are copied from my Modifications thread where with the much-appreciated help from @JohnT and encouragement from other forum members I took the plunge and installed the fork cartridge upgrade myself. There are significant edits in the following posts to make them more suitable for a DIY. In truth the install is a lot more straightforward than I'd originally thought, the hardest part was compressing the spring, and also not swearing when I discovered the supplier hadn't sent enough fork oil.... ;)

The usual disclaimers apply. I'm a very amateur mechanic with average (at best) mechanical skills. The below install is how I went about installing the fork internals and I provide the information in good faith. Neither I nor this forum will accept any responsibility for accidents or mishaps from following the guidance in this DIY thread. You do the work at your own risk. Worked fine for me though! :)

If in doubt, always get a properly qualified person to do the job.

Firstly get preparations underway for the fork upgrade. The object is to get the front end in the air so the forks can be lowered through the yokes. You might have a font paddock stand or some other way of achieving this however this is what I did. With combination of the ABBA Superbike Stand (which lifts the rear wheel off the ground) and a hydraulic jack to lift the front end up by putting some wood under the sump and jacking it up. Then bricks were used as a more permanent support as I don't trust hydraulic jacks to stay up for any length of time. Result seems stable and pretty strong. Both wheels are about 8" (20cm) off the ground. Here's a couple of photos showing the fun!

·
Super Moderator
10,471 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Front End Strip

The name of the game is trying to get these into the bike forks:

And so it begins - here we go!