BMW NineT Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a 2016 model with 1,200 on the ODO last week and I'm still learning about this bike. I've never ridden another R-NineT so I'm not sure what's normal and what's not.

1. When accelerating under 2.5k RPM the engine runs pretty rough and uneven. Is this normal for the boxter engine?
2. There is a ticking noise from the cylinder heads while idling. Is this normal? (it's not the clutch noise that goes away when engaging the clutch).
3. If I blip and rev the throttle too fast, the engine slightly chokes. Is this normal? This is a 2016 model with a cable throttle

I appreciate the insight! If these are normal quirks about the R-NineT then we're good to go. Just want to make sure I don't need to address anything.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
After reading through some of the threads on here, it sounds like installing a BoosterPlug will help with the low RPM roughness and the choking during throttle blips?

Does anyone have the same experience?

·
Registered
2022 Scrambler
38 Posts
Before going to a lot of bother I'd check a couple of cheap things...

Try some new plugs, check for a clogged air filter, try some injector cleaner, check the tightness of the HT leads and associated LT leads, syphon the petrol out and fill with fresh.

·
Registered
750 Posts
The blip/throttle thing from point 3 i also experience.
Even when my bike got it's service with sync; it still had it. Be sure to warm up the bike before trying to blip the throttle. On a cold bike it's not happy if u do it.

I fitted a boosterplug on mine which fixed allot of the low rpm stalling-ish.. (never actualy stalled it but it felt like it was going to..)

·
Administrator
13,407 Posts